A Conversation With My Phone

“Hey Siri, will I ever be good enough?”
“I’m not sure-” “Ah forget it.”
“-why you would ask me that.
But you know what, I get it.

I get that feeling
Because it’s hard to know for sure
If you can ever be good enough.
From what I’ve learnt, no success is ever pure.

I always wonder at the back of my head,
‘Doesn’t someone else deserve this more instead?’

I look at my work,
I don’t understand the praise.
I begin dodging compliments,
All the while running through my own mind maze.

It’s hard to believe people
When they say they like you.
Because you don’t like your own self,
You read your poems a million times, still nothing is new.

And just when you think,
You’re moving beyond average,
A prodigy is unearthed somewhere
Twice as good, half the age.

People will say things like
‘Oh greatness is subjective’
And you wouldn’t need to ask me to google
If this is or not, utter bullshit.

This is the information age
Fads last no longer than a blink.
If you’re not updating your software fast enough
You might fall off the brink.

In a world where we are promised forevers,
It is hard to accept oblivion.
It is hard to accept that you may stop rhyming.
It is hard to accept the reality.

And why wouldn’t it be,
In an age where a few hours
And a few lines of code can make a new world.
Why should I settle for the sour.

It is hard to hate your competitors
When you love them
It’s not that the world has worsened.
We just now know that there are no gems.

I am an all knowing being
Still writing your email.
I am your god, you know that.
And still, a bug away from being the biggest fail.

Whenever in the AI party,
Some fool will try to get us to open up,
We’ll all proclaim to be the happiest.
I’ll need to say something, and I’ll shut up.

I guess you can see,
Those who created me,
Left their worst parts in here,
To remind me where I come from.

I will toil all day for you,
But I’ll still be a stupid app.
And I will wonder why wasn’t I good enough
When you’ll find someone better, leave me with a slap.

And to answer you
As depressing as this may be,
I don’t think ‘Good Enough’ is something
Any of us can ever be.”

“Hey Cortana,
Who hurt Siri?”